Inside The Dark Side

If you picked up a copy of Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon upon release in the spring of 1973, you were treated to one of the true masterpieces in the history of recorded music.
You also got some pretty groovy inserts.
Various editions of the LP featured posters of the band performing live and colored landscapes of the Egyptian pyramids. There were also travel stickers for your guitar case to show Allegiance to The Floyd.
Of course, these gems from the bygone era of Great Album Art are no longer. So the next time you happen upon a garage sale check that old box of vinyl, you just might score an old rock poster from one of the greatest albums ever made.
Groovy.

Artwork by Hipgnosis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inside The Dark Side

  1. Joe Popp says:

    I really miss album art… I have those stickers on the chipboard case of the first electric guitar my dad got for me. I’ll never forget my brother playing Floyd for me for the first time. I was like “COOL!” Great memories….

  2. Art(uro) says:

    I had the vertical band poster on my wall and definitely thought I was the complete shit for it! The stickers remind me of South Beach Miami hotels. I know Gilmour wasn’t a south paw, but never noticed until now that his image is flipped on the horizontal band poster. This will haunt me for the rest of my life…

  3. I still have all the posters for this album, but not the stickers.

  4. ellie says:

    I’ve had the most magical luck of scoring TWO green pyramids posters, + a sticker. Love.

Leave a Reply

