Kurt Cobain Shot Himself, Just Like That

I remember the day
Kurt Cobain shot himself
A friend who worked for the news
Called me at work
He said he was bummed
I said the same thing he said
He asked me if I remembered where I was
When John Lennon was shot
I know I wasn’t at work
I was at school, I was ten
I want to tell my kids
Nobody knew why he did it
Why Kurt Cobain shot himself
Just like that
He just pulled the fucking trigger
Michael Stipe doesn’t know
I remember where I was
When Kurt Cobain shot himself
That’s all I could say to myself
As if the moment only meant that I could remember it
For my kids
Or some scrap book that I’ll show
At my fiftieth birthday party
Weren’t those crazy days?
I guess they were for Kurt
Rock God that he was
I remember where I was
When Kurt Cobain shot himself
That’s about it
Pick Up Nirvana’s New Release Nevermind
I remember the first and last time
I saw Nirvana
I had wrecked a friend’s Wagoneer
And decided to go to a club
And try and forget about it
I had never heard of the bands
But I didn’t care
Through the door I got a flyer
Pick up Nirvana’s new release Nevermind
The club was packed
I gave up on the beer
The first band was slow
I couldn’t understand it
Then came Nirvana
The singer came out perplexed
Smoking a big joint
What followed was heavy
The like I had not seen or heard
The show ended with the singer’s amp blowing up
The bass and drums pounded on
The singer dived off the stage
Into the crowd
Kurt Cobain Shot Himself, Just Like That, 1995
Pick Up Nirvana’s New Release Nevermind, 1996
Photograph by Tracy Marander, 1989
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kurt Cobain Shot Himself, Just Like That

  1. I remember where I was, too. Wait… was I the guy who called you? I was working in the art dept. of Barron’s Financial Rag when it came over the—what did they call those machines in those days—the teletype?

    Obviously, I was the only the guy in the room who really cared. That was a sad day indeed, brother. I think I’ll go listen to Very Ape right now to remember a lost genius.

Leave a Reply

