29 Minutes of Controlled Chaos, 1974

King Crimson, live on French TV, 1974.
There is no weak link in this band, but drummer Bill Bruford is absolutely out of his mind during this live in-studio session. His internal rhythmic sense channels outer space.
Welcome to the Twilight Zone of modern progressive rock drumming.
If for some reason you can’t handle the whole beast that is Crimson live in ’74, proceed directly to the buildup and jam that ends the final track “Starless,” around the 21:45 mark.
It does not get any better than this, folks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 29 Minutes of Controlled Chaos, 1974

  1. Shaugn says:

    Bruford is awesome, but I like the next two lineups of Crimson better. The trio without Cross for Red and then the Discipline era, replacing Wetton with Levin and Belew. It doesn’t get better than that!

  2. Joe Popp says:

    Turn up those 2 Hiwatts Fripp! I can barely hear the guitar!

  3. Shaugn says:

    Two questions:
    (1) Phil Collins or Bill Bruford? I’m talking behind the kit (not mic) Phil, Apocalypse in 9/8 style.
    (2) Thoughts on Danny Carey? I’ve seen most of these guys live, but in person I found him the most impressive.
    Qualifier: I’m about as much as a non-drummer as a musician can possibly be; they’re a technical mystery to me!

  4. Mr. Durrand: Doood–thanks for posting this! My only exposure to this lineup ’til now has been Larks’ Tongues… Starless is great stuff.

    Mr. Popp: Not sure how Fripp gets that sustain with such a low volume. Must be those three super-hot humbuckers?

    Mr. Shaugn: Choosing between Bruford and Collins is like choosing between your favorite liquor and your favorite ale. What kinda buzz are ya in the mood for?

  5. Shaugn says:

    I rarely choose, just knock back both for full enjoyment, but my heart’s still really with the anejo. I was just checking in on Phil’s legacy. His pop years tend to obscure him as arguably the best early-70s prog drummer. But, of course, everyone’s mileage varies.

    And I can’t tell you how many music store dudes I drove crazy back in the day trying to get that Fripp sound in a stompbox; they would kick me out every time!

  6. tylordurand says:

    I can only say I am happy this post has sparked a conversation on favorite prog drummers of the ’70s. I personally can’t choose between Bill or Phil, although Bill gets some style points for the Boston Bruins gear. Classic era Yes and Genesis will always be either on my turntable, or right beside it. And let’s not forget the untouchable Carl Palmer. Prog Nerds Unite!

  7. I’m not sure if this is just a coincidence, but it appears that a forest pixie or gnome downloaded this video off of YouTube, extracted the audio to a lossless WAV format, normalized then encoded that audio to a 320kbps MP3 file and uploaded it here: http://www.mediafire.com/?8tzvq5gdt90238i

    All so that we could listen on our portable music devices. How thoughtful of them.

Leave a Reply

